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General Licensure Requirements for Check Casher and Seller  

and Small Loan Endorsement Applicants 

Provided below is a summary of some of the more common licensure requirements associated with applying for 

a check casher and seller and small loan endorsement license in the State of Washington.  This is not intended 

to be a comprehensive list but is meant to give applicants an idea of some of the more common issues that may 

arise while applying for this license. 

 Applicant must provide the criminal history of applicant, directors, officers, partners, sole proprietor, 

owners, or control persons relating to:   

o gross misdemeanors involving dishonesty or financial misconduct within the past seven years 

o felonies within the past seven years 

o felonies that involve an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money laundering at any time   

 Applicant must provide information relating to any adverse actions taken in the United States against: 

o the applicant when its license to conduct business under this chapter or a similar statute has been 

suspended or revoked in the past five years 

o the applicant or a sole proprietor, owner, director, officer, partner, agent, or control person of the 

applicant if they have been banned from the industry by an administrative order  

o the applicant or control person who have had civil litigation filed against them within the past 

ten years   

 Applicant must provide financial statements  

o Applicant may also have to provide financial statements for its board directors, officers, trustees, 

members, or employees  

 Applicant must be domiciled in the United States  

 Applicant must maintain a surety bond: the cost of obtaining a bond varies  

o Check casher and seller: $10,000 minimum; maximum is $75,000 plus .25% above $100,000 of 

the highest monthly liability 

o Small loan endorsement: $10,000 plus an additional $1,000 for each endorsed branch   

If you have any questions about the information outlined above, please feel free to contact the Washington DFI 

Licensing Unit at (360) 902-8703, or DCS@dfi.wa.gov.    
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